
SJC 5-Day Breach Notice (NRS 40.2516) (Rev. 7/22/24) 

SPARKS JUSTICE COURT 
FIVE-DAY NOTICE TO PERFORM LEASE CONDITION OR QUIT 

TO:   FROM:   
     

    Tenant Name(s)               Landlord Name(s) 

 and all occupants  named tenant(s) only    

  Address 
 

Address  City, State, Zip Code 
 

City, State, Zip Code  Telephone Number(s) 
   
DATE OF SERVICE   Email Address(es) 
 
PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that pursuant to NRS 40.2516, you have neglected or failed to perform a condition or 
covenant of your lease or rental agreement as follows  (describe alleged violation(s) in detail. Attach and note which page and 
paragraph of the lease agreement containing the specific condition or covenant being violated):   
 
 
  (check if attaching additional page). 
  

Within five (5) judicial days after the Date of Service of this Notice, you may correct the violation(s) and save the 
lease from forfeiture, unless the covenants and conditions cannot be performed  (explain why violation(s) cannot be fixed 
or performed):  
 
  (check if attaching additional page). 
  

IF YOU FAIL to vacate the premises or correct the violations described above no later than five (5) judicial1 days following 
the Date of Service of this Notice, your possession of the premises will be unlawful (called “Unlawful Detainer”) and your 
landlord may initiate an eviction against you by either serving you with a Five-Day Unlawful Detainer Notice OR a 
Summons and Complaint for Unlawful Detainer. If the Court determines that the tenant(s) is/are guilty of an unlawful detainer, 
the Court may issue a summary order for removal from the premises or an order providing for the non-admittance of the tenant(s). 
The Sheriff may then remove you not earlier than 24 hours but no later than 36 hours after posting the Order. Pursuant 
to NRS 118A.390, you may seek relief if a landlord unlawfully removes you from the premises, excludes you by blocking 
or attempting to block your entry upon the premises, or willfully interrupts or causes or permits the interruption of an essential 
service required by the rental agreement or NRS Chapter 118A. 

If a tenant with a periodic tenancy is a federal worker, tribal worker, state worker or household member of such a worker, the 
tenant may request to be allowed to continue in possession during the period commencing on the date on which a shutdown begins 
and ending on the date that is 30 days after the date on which the shutdown ends by submitting a written request for the extended 
period and providing proof they are a federal, tribal, or state worker or a household member of such a worker during the shutdown. 
The landlord who receives this request shall allow you to continue in possession for the period requested unless the court orders 
otherwise See NRS 40.251(3). 

You can obtain information regarding this Notice by calling the Sparks Justice Court Civil Department at 775.353.7600, 
Ext. 3 or by visiting the Sparks Justice Court at 1675 E. Prater Way Ste. 107, Sparks, NV 89434. 

To request free legal advice or assistance, contact Northern Nevada Legal Aid (775-329-2727) or Nevada Legal Services 
(775-284-3491). 

 
1  Judicial days do not include the date of service, Saturdays, Sundays, or certain legal holidays. 
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